Mayor Suarez named to the National League of Cities’ Task Force on Housing


Miami, FL December, 2018 – Mayor Francis Suarez has been appointed to the National League of Cities’ Task Force on Housing, a group tasked with addressing how communities can better respond to the growing challenge of housing availability, investment and quality.

“I am honored to be selected as part of the National League of Cities’ Task Force on Housing. Being part of these initiatives is instrumental in our ongoing efforts to address our affordable housing crisis,” said Miami Mayor Francis Suarez. “Part of what will make us a model for resiliency is our ability to provide housing to residents of all income levels. This Task Force will help us continue building upon innovative and comprehensive housing solutions that will enhance our residents’ quality of life.”

The task force is under the leadership of NLC President Karen Freeman-Wilson, mayor of Gary, Indiana, and chaired by Washington, D.C. Mayor Muriel Bowser.

“Every American deserves a place to call home. But in cities across the country, serious shortages of adequate housing means that too many residents don’t have the security of a stable home,” said National League of Cities President Karen Freeman-Wilson, mayor of Gary, Indiana. “Local leaders are on the frontlines of ensuring that residents have safe, affordable housing and through the formation of this task force we will leverage our collective experience to help solve this urgent challenge.”

Mayor Suarez joins a diverse group of mayors to develop a set of best and promising practices at the local level, as well as policy recommendations to federal and state governments.

Other members of the National League of Cities Task Force on Housing include:

Mayor Muriel Bowser of Washington, D.C., Chair
Councilmember Jesse Matthews of Bessemer, Alabama
Mayor John Giles of Mesa, Arizona
Mayor Libby Schaaf of Oakland, California
Councilmember Albus Brooks of Denver, Colorado
Mayor Keisha Lance Bottoms of Atlanta, Georgia
Councilmember Denise Moore of Peoria , Illinois
Councilmember Brandon Scott of Baltimore, Maryland
Mayor Vi Lyles of Charlotte, North Carolina
Councilmember David Bobzien of Reno, Nevada
Mayor Lovely Warren of Rochester, New York
Mayor Jamael Tito Brown of Youngstown, Ohio
Councilmember Greg Evans of Eugene, Oregon
Councilmember Lana Wolff of Arlington, Texas
Mayor Ron Nirenberg of San Antonio, Texas
Councilmember Teresa Mosqueda, Seattle, Washington
Carolyn Coleman, executive director of the League of California Cities
Daniel P. Gilmartin, executive director & CEO, Michigan Municipal League

About The National League of Cities

The National League of Cities (NLC) is dedicated to helping city leaders build better communities. NLC is a resource and advocate for 19,000 cities, towns and villages, representing more than 218 million Americans. Learn more at